Zoning Board of Appeals

Number of Member Appointed by Council: 7
Length of Terms: 4 years

Purpose: Hear and decide appeals where it is alleged there is an error in an order requirement, decision or determination made by an Administrative official in the enforcement of the Zoning Ordinance. Council appointees are in bold print.


Jerry Mozingo, Sr.
District: 1

2243 Killian Rd.
Edgemoor, SC 29712
(803) 789-5422
Nominated by: Brad Jordan
Re-Appointment Date: 02-2015
Appointment Ends: 12-2018

Gerald (Joe) Houston
District: 3

1316 Beltline Rd.
Chester, SC 29706
(803) 377-4094
Nominated by: Joe Branham
Re-Appointment Date: 02-2013
Appointment Ends: 12-2016

Wallace Hayes
District: 5

Nominated by: Mary Guy
Appointment Date: 02-2015
Appointment Ends: 12-2018

Mike Wylie
At Large

121 Park Dr.
Chester, SC 29706
(803) 385-3668
Nominated by: R. Carlisle Roddey
Appointment Date: 02-2011
Appointment Ends: 12-2014

Mickey Walley
District: 2

Nominated by: Archie Lucas
Appointment Date: 02-2015
Appointment Ends: 12-2018

Walter James Holley, Sr.
District: 4

PO Box 462
Chester, SC 29706
(803) 581-8729
(803) 385-8142
Nominated by: John Wayne Holcombe
Re-Appointment Date: 01-2013
Appointment Ends: 12-2016

Ella Spann
District: 6

100 Torbit St., Apt. 18
Chester, SC 29706
(803) 581-4840
Nominated by: Alex Oliphant
Re-Appointment Date: 01-2013
Appointment Ends: 12-2016

Membership Criteria: The Board shall consist of 7 members appointed by County Council for staggered terms of 4 years commencing on January 1 in the year of appointment. One member shall be appointed from, and be a resident of, each of the 6 council districts, and the 7th member shall be appointed at large by majority vote of Council. (S.C. Code 6-29-780) Board members shall serve at the will and pleasure of Council and terms shall run concurrent with that of the appointer.

Copyright © 2016 Chester County   |   1476 J.A. Cochran Bypass, P.O. Box 580, Chester, SC 29706   |   Phone: 803-385-5133

Chester County


For Business. For Life.