Court System

The Chester County Courthouse is the center of the judicial system for Chester County. Built in 1852, the Courthouse has served as the seat of county government for 149 years. The Clerk's office has expanded over the years, now occupies half of the first floor of the Courthouse. Chester County is in the 6th Judicial Circuit, which is composed of Chester, Fairfield, and Lancaster Counties. Forty-three Circuit Judges rotate among the 16 circuits. The judges are elected by the General Assembly for six-year terms, and the state government pays their salaries. The Clerk is elected countywide and serves a four-year term.


Back to top