Catawba Mental Health Board

Number of Member Appointed by Council: 3
Length of Terms: 4 years

Purpose: This is an administrative agency for community health service in York, Chester and Lancaster counties that receive State or grants-in-aid for mental health patients.


Bennie Thompson
2522 Majors Dr.
Chester, SC 29706
(803) 789-5570
Nominated by: County Council
Re-Appointment Date: 01-2017
Appointment Ends: 12-2020
Per Governor's Office

Melanie Saxon
216 Center Street
Chester, SC 29706
(803) 374-3887
Nominated by: County Council
Appointment Date: 10-2018
Appointment Ends: 06-2019
Per Governor's Office

Susan K. Helms
2779 Gaston Farm Rd.
Chester, SC 29706
(803) 789-5269
Nominated by: K. Shane Stuart
Appointment Date: 01-2016
Appointment Ends: 12-2018
Per Governor's Office

Membership Criteria: The board shall be composed of not less than 7 nor more that 15 persons. Membership, so far as maybe practical, must be representatives of local health departments, medical societies, welfare boards, hospital boards and any associations concerned with mental health as well as labor, business, and civic groups and the general public. At least one member must be a medical doctor licensed to practice in S.C. Members are appointed by the Governor upon recommendation of the legislation delegation. The delegation may delegate to the county governing body the authority to make recommendations to the Governor. Chester County has three members of the Board. The County Council makes the recommendation to the Governor. The term of office is for 4 years. A person may serve consecutive terms. (S.C. Code 44-15-60)