Circuit Judges and Solicitor

Resident Circuit Court Judge: The Honorable Brian M. Gibbons

The Circuit Court is the state's court of general jurisdiction. It has a civil court, the Court of Common Pleas, and a criminal court, the Court of General Sessions. In addition to its general trial jurisdiction, the Circuit Court has limited appellate jurisdiction over appeals from the Probate Court, Magistrate's Court, and Municipal Court, as well as appeals from the Administrative Law Judge Division, which hears matters relating to state administrative and regulatory agencies.

The State is divided into sixteen judicial circuits. Each circuit has at least one resident circuit judge who maintains an office in the judge's home county within the circuit. There are forty-six circuit judges who serve the sixteen circuits on a rotating basis, with court terms and assignments determined by the Chief Justice based upon recommendations of Court Administration. Circuit court judges are elected by the General Assembly to staggered terms of six years.

Sixth Circuit Solicitor: Randy E. Newman, Jr.

Location: (Chester, Lancaster, Fairfield)
Mailing Address: PO Box 607, Lancaster, SC 29721
Chester Office Phone: (803) 377-1141
Lancaster Office Phone: (803) 416-9367

The 6th Circuit Solicitor's Office represents the state of South Carolina in criminal cases filed by law enforcement in Chester, Lancaster, and Fairfield counties.  A diverse team of attorneys represents the office in circuit court and family court hearings.